Wednesday, March 28, 2018

6 April Book Releases I Can’t Wait To Read

6 April Book Releases I Can’t Wait To Read

Oh boy... this month has so many exciting new releases!

Let's dive in!

 6 April Book Releases I Can’t Wait To Read



Find You In The Dark by Nathan Ripley book cover
Find You In The Dark by Nathan Ripley
Expected publication date: April 2nd 2018
Genre: Mystery

Synopsis:
A chilling debut thriller in the vein of Dexter and The Talented Mr Ripley.

Martin Reese has a hobby: he digs up murder victims. He buys stolen police files on serial killers, and uses them to find and dig up missing bodies. Calls in the results anonymously, taunting the police for their failure to do their job.

Detective Sandra Whittal takes that a little personally. She’s suspicious of the mysterious caller, who she names the Finder. Maybe he’s the one leaving the bodies behind. If not, who’s to say he won’t start soon?

As Whittal begins to zero in on the Finder, Martin makes a shocking discovery. It seems someone—someone lethal—is very unhappy about the bodies he’s been digging up.

Hunted by a cop, hunted by a killer. To escape and keep his family safe, Martin may have to go deeper into the world of murder than he ever imagined.



Dread Nation by Justina Ireland book cover
Dread Nation by Justina Ireland
Expected publication date: April 3rd 2018
Genre: YA Horror

Synopsis:
Jane McKeene was born two days before the dead began to walk the battlefields of Gettysburg and Chancellorsville—derailing the War Between the States and changing America forever. In this new nation, safety for all depends on the work of a few, and laws like the Native and Negro Reeducation Act require certain children attend combat schools to learn to put down the dead. But there are also opportunities—and Jane is studying to become an Attendant, trained in both weaponry and etiquette to protect the well-to-do. It’s a chance for a better life for Negro girls like Jane. After all, not even being the daughter of a wealthy white Southern woman could save her from society’s expectations.

But that’s not a life Jane wants. Almost finished with her education at Miss Preston’s School of Combat in Baltimore, Jane is set on returning to her Kentucky home and doesn’t pay much mind to the politics of the eastern cities, with their talk of returning America to the glory of its days before the dead rose. But when families around Baltimore County begin to go missing, Jane is caught in the middle of a conspiracy, one that finds her in a desperate fight for her life against some powerful enemies. And the restless dead, it would seem, are the least of her problems.



Unbury Carol by Josh Malerman book cover
Unbury Carol by Josh Malerman
Expected publication date: April 10th 2018
Genre: Horror

Synopsis:
Carol Evers is a woman with a dark secret. She has died many times . . . but her many deaths are not final: They are comas, a waking slumber indistinguishable from death, each lasting days.

Only two people know of Carol’s eerie condition. One is her husband, Dwight, who married Carol for her fortune, and—when she lapses into another coma—plots to seize it by proclaiming her dead and quickly burying her . . . alive. The other is her lost love, the infamous outlaw James Moxie. When word of Carol’s dreadful fate reaches him, Moxie rides the Trail again to save his beloved from an early, unnatural grave.

And all the while, awake and aware, Carol fights to free herself from the crippling darkness that binds her—summoning her own fierce will to survive. As the players in this drama of life and death fight to decide her fate, Carol must in the end battle to save herself.



Slenderman by Will Hill
Expected publication date: April 10th
Genre: Horror

Synopsis:
One man’s search for the truth about one of the most intriguing urban legends ever—the modern bogeyman, Slender Man—leads him down a dark, dangerous path in this creepy supernatural fantasy reminiscent of Night Film, House of Leaves, and Illuminae, that will make you question where the line between legend and fact begins

A young man is desperate to find his missing sister . . . desperate enough to resort to the darkest means. But just how much is he willing to pay the Slender Man in order to save her?

Told through a variety of narrative devices, including photos, journal entries, e-mails, articles, and other artifacts, this unique spine-tingling story is a brilliant and terrifying look at one of the most fascinating—and diabolical—mythical figures in modern times.



The Darkling Bride by Laura Andersen book cover
The Darkling Bride by Laura Andersen
Expected publication date: April 17th 2018
Genre: Historical Fiction / Mystery

Synopsis:
Three generations of Irish nobles face their family secrets in this spellbinding novel from the award-winning author of the Boleyn King trilogy.

The Gallagher family has called Deeprath Castle home for seven hundred years. Nestled in the Wicklow Mountains of Ireland, the estate is now slated to become a public trust, and book lover and scholar Carragh Ryan is hired to take inventory of its historic library. But after meeting Aidan, the current Viscount Gallagher, and his enigmatic family, Carragh knows that her task will be more challenging than she’d thought.

Two decades before, Aidan’s parents died violently at Deeprath. The case, which was never closed, has recently been taken up by a new detective determined to find the truth. The couple’s unusual deaths harken back a century, when twenty-three-year-old Lady Jenny Gallagher also died at Deeprath under mysterious circumstances, leaving behind an infant son and her husband, a renowned writer who never published again. These incidents only fueled fantastical theories about the Darkling Bride, a local legend of a sultry and dangerous woman from long ago whose wrath continues to haunt the castle.

The past catches up to the present, and odd clues in the house soon have Carragh wondering if there are unseen forces stalking the Gallagher family. As secrets emerge from the shadows and Carragh gets closer to answers—and to Aidan—could she be the Darkling Bride’s next victim?



Lizzie by Dawn Ius book cover
Lizzie by Dawn Ius
Expected publication date: April 10th 2018
Genre: YA

Synopsis:
Seventeen-year-old Lizzie Borden has never been kissed. Polite but painfully shy, Lizzie prefers to stay in the kitchen, where she can dream of becoming a chef and escape her reality. With tyrannical parents who force her to work at the family’s B&B and her blackout episodes—a medical condition that has plagued her since her first menstrual cycle—Lizzie longs for a life of freedom, the time and space to just figure out who she is and what she wants.

Enter the effervescent, unpredictable Bridget Sullivan. Bridget has joined the B&B’s staff as the new maid, and Lizzie is instantly drawn to her artistic style and free spirit—even her Star Wars obsession is kind of cute. The two of them forge bonds that quickly turn into something that’s maybe more than friendship.

But when her parents try to restrain Lizzie from living the life she wants, it sparks something in her that she can’t quite figure out. Her blackout episodes start getting worse, her instincts less and less reliable. Lizzie is angry, certainly, but she also feels like she’s going mad…


Thanks for reading!
What book releases are you looking forward to this month?
SaveSave

34 comments:

  1. Wow, you've picked some winners. I'd not even heard of Slenderman though and why does it not have a cover if it's coming out in April. I've already got a buddy read of Dread Nation planned with a blogger friend who doesn't read horror so that should be fun :) and Nocturnal Readers announced one of these will be in the April box (not mentioning it due to spoilers) because they felt so many would rush out and buy it. So, you pretty much added at least 2 others to my TBR from this list - you're evil (but in the best way possible)!!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I’m excited for Dread Nation. I have it preordered. Unbury sounds so creepy! I might have to read that one.

    Aj @ Read All The Things!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Wahoo! I hope you love it! :-D I can't wait to see your thoughts!

      Delete
  3. The Darkling Bride sounds really cool!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yoo I'm curious about these! Dread Nation is soo worth the height, I loved it! Find You in the Dark sounds good as does Slenderman. Did you watch the HBO documentary about it?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's great to hear!! And no! I haven't yet, but someone was just telling me about it earlier today! I definitely have to check it out!

      Delete
  5. I'm EXTREMELY excited to read Dread Nation as well--I've not finished a book from this author before, but I attempted to some time ago. Hopefully this one will work better for me. Find You in the Dark has a GORGEOUS cover!

    - Aimee @ Aimee, Always

    ReplyDelete
  6. I have heard so many amazing things about Dread Nation! I need to get my hands on it.
    Cora | http://www.teapartyprincess.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right?! I can't wait!! I hope you love it!

      Delete
  7. Some of these look pretty good. I’m so out of the loop. I think I only knew what one of these was.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. haha no worries! I have to Google search to make these lists :)

      Delete
  8. I'm really excited for Unbury Carol and Dread Nation! Unfortunately I DNF'd a NetGalley ARC of Darkling Bride a while back...it just wasn't working for me. I hope you have better luck with it! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh no! I hate when DNFs happen. Thanks for the heads up!

      Delete
  9. I'm so excited about Dread Nation. I can't wait to get may hands on it. The wait is almost over.

    http://mylovelysecret.blogspot.pt/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. :-D I can't wait to see what you think once you're able to snag a copy!

      Delete
  10. I love that you've shared a few I hadn't even heard of. I DO want to read Unbury Carol and the two that I'm now adding to my wish list are Find You in the Dark and Slenderman.

    -Lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
  11. Ooh you found some interesting sounding books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. :-D It's going to be a great reading month!

      Delete
  12. Great list! I keep hearing great thing about Dread Nation.

    ReplyDelete
  13. FIND YOU IN THE DARK sounds so creepy and cool!! I think I'll defintiely have to look into that one :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. I have Dread Nation and Lizzie on my radar too! They both sound so good! I have been craving a spooky/fun Lizzie Borden read ever since I was disappointed with See What I Have Done! <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same! My god that book was horrible! haha

      Delete
  15. I have high hopes for Dread Nation and Unbury Carol. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Dread Nation looks especially great to me! I love the sound of history combining with zombies :d

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right?! I can't wait to check it out!!

      Delete